2015 OzAsia Film Festival

2015 OzAsia Film Festival

China, Taiwan, Indonesia, nineteen sixties Japan….yes folks it’s that time of year again when too much asian cinema is barely enough, OZASIA!

This years Ozasia Film Festival opens on Wednesday September 23 at 7pm with the Akira Kurosawa sixties film noir classic High and Low.  We have three sixties film noirs in our program, all by the master director Kurosawa and each featuring his favourite actor Toshiro Mifune.

Then the first Australian major retrospective of the work of Ann Hui, one of the Hong Kong New Wave’s most respected directors one of the few female directors in the world to carve a career for herself across genre and arthouse films.  We’re showing six of her films including the multi-award winning A Simple Life.  

Two controversial Indonesian films, The Act of Killing and The Look of Silence, each directed by Joshua Oppenheimer with unnamed Indonesian collaborators who cannot be named for fear of persecution.  And from China, three brand new films that showcase the dynamic and powerful new voices of emerging filmmakers taking on a country going through great changes.  Not to be missed.

Wed 23 Sep, 7pm

High and Low (M)

Thu 24 Sep, 7pm
Stray Dog (PG)

Fri 25 Sep, 7pm
The Bad Sleep Well (PG)

Sat 26 Sep, 7pm
A Touch of Sin (MA15+) 

Sun 27 Sep, 2pm
The Act of Killing (MA15+)

Mon 28 Sep, 7pm
A Simple Life (CTC)

Tue 29 Sep, 6pm
Boat People (M) 

Tue 29 Sep, 8:15pm
A Young Patriot (CTC)

Wed 30 Sep, 6pm
The Look of Silence (CTC)

Wed 30 Sep, 8:15pm
Nezha (CTC)

Thu 01 Oct, 7pm
Eighteen Springs (PG)

Fri 02 Oct, 7pm
Love in a Fallen City (PG)

Sat 03 Oct, 7pm
My American Grandson (CTC)

Sun 04 Oct, 3pm
The Golden Era (CTC) 

Sun 04 Oct, 7:30pm
East by South East (PG) 

The Oz Asia Film Festival is grateful to the following colleagues:

Curation and Writing, Ann Hui Retrospective: Adrienne McKibbins, Film sourcing and advice: Mike Walsh, Sam Ho, Wendy Hau at the Hong  Kong Film Archive, Picture Research: Jasmine Bates, Jeremy Nicholas, Programming: Glenys Rowe at the Adelaide Cinematheque, Mercury Cinema and our distributor colleagues: Mick Robbins, China Lion Entertainment, Jennifer Yip, Star TV, Josephine Ng, Celestial Pictures,Verbal Chan, Pegasus Motion Picture Distribution, Jack Lee, China Film International, Paul Tonta, Madman, Amie, CNEX, Ventris Ma, Edko Films, Jason Lau, Magnum Films, Stephanie Carter, NFSA, Nick Cura, Curious Film and Emi Haraguchi at Toho, Japan.